�
navigate
shorts
series
contact
links

We've moved. Please update your bookmarks. BitterTwee.com

06.21.06: You Are What You Love (but not what loves you back): Part II

Every breeze that gives me a chill
I think is you
Maybe that's paranoia.
Maybe you watch me naked in the shower.

Sometimes, when the wind blows making the leaves whisper and shuffle, I think it's you saying hi.

I'm standing in the shower, with my forehead resting against the tile. I'm not sad so much as tired. Cool water hits my side.

"You shouldn't waste water like this."
"Oh no?" I don't even bother to open my eyes.
"It's a resource. Humans are destroying the environment."
"Since when are you so conscientious?"
"Since now."

I look up. You're dressed, but the water goes through you.

"Don't you have other things to do?"
"Like what?"
"Like giving the psychic network a run for their money? I don't know."
"That shit gets boring after a while."
"But watching me in the shower gives you a thrill?"

I wasn't trying to be mean. Even though I can't actually hit you, you look like you just got sucker punched.

"Not like that." You say.
"I'm sorry." I'm still pressed against the tile. Like this is normal. Like I do this all the time.

You don't say anything. You just stand there, letting the water shower through you.

"I saw some website about a lady who said she was raped by ghosts." I'm not sure why I say this, but it comes to mind.
"I can't rape anybody."
"I'm not saying you should," I say too quickly and too cheerfully. "She was ugly anyway. I think she was lying."
"Probably." You look worried.
"What?"

I turn away from you and shut off the water. I turn back, with my arms crossed. It's cold. You don't help.

"We could try, I guess." You say, translucent against the shower curtain.
"That would be weird."
"It probably wouldn't work, either."
"We wouldn't have to worry about birth control, though."

Then, very briefly, you smile.

before & after
all content copyright � 2002 - 2006 burnthings